Nowadays, many schools find it profitable to sell unhealthy food and sugary drinks to students during lunch breaks. Is this a positive or negative development?

Packaged foods and sugary drinks have been sold to students in many schools ' canteens during their lunch breaks. Schools get high profits while selling these kinds of meals to the children. Even if these profits might be used for the maintenance or improvement of the facilities at the school, I firmly believe that these kinds of foodstuff and drinks are extremely harmful to children’s health. This is completely a negative development for the child’s development. People have been suffering from chronic illness while developing of fast-food culture. Chronic disease rates have been increasing when comparing in the last 30 years. Diabetes is one of the biggest problems among them. There is certain evidence that diabetes is completely related to unhealthy food choices. It was believed that diabetes used to be related to age, in fact, most of the patients belonged to older age groups. Nevertheless, younger, even toddlers, have been suffering from this illness for the last decades. Moreover, these illnesses have been increasing the load on the health systems in the countries. On top of that, this situation results in creating an unhealthy generation. This is a big dilemma the expectation from the education system and teachers are to be a good role model for the students. It is not convinced that students are told that healthy habits are very important for their development such as good nutrition choices and a physically active life while selling these packaged snacks at the school canteen. In conclusion, schools should encourage and force students about healthy habits. I believe the mission of the schools is not just about educating our children about literature or science. They have to focus on the child’s education and development in a holistic approach which means considering of health, physical, and mental development of the students.