Some University students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Students around the world have various ideas about learning materials in universities. It is argued by some students that they want to learn other materials alongside their major materials. However, other students believe that it is important for us to concentrate on our lessons. There are some rational arguments on both sides of this contentious topic which will be discussed in detail. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that one-track-minded students might not be a successful person in their lives. On the one hand, many students opine that they should concentrate on their main subjects and materials as through this they can be professional and expert in their fields. That is to say, students in the mathematics field believe that it is unnecessary to study history or art in university and that they need to learn more and focus better on math materials. It is claimed by these students that studying other subjects is time-consuming and we do not need them in our future careers. Undoubtedly, focusing on just your subjects is the key tenet to becoming successful. On the other hand, other students believe that when we focus on just one major, we can not get familiar with other sciences or fields. Indeed, knowing other materials helps students to broaden their horizons. To illustrate the point, students in the art field should learn materials in history and anthropology so as to get acquainted with people from all walks of life and be tolerant of cultural differences. Thanks to the technology and internet, students can easily communicate with other students and scholars and exchange their ideas on the grounds that almost all majors are interdisciplinary and related to each other in today’s world. To conclude, there are valid arguments on both sides of the controversy, on balance, however, it is my firm conviction that students should be multidimensional and study other materials and subjects along with their main major. In other words, those who become successful have diverse knowledge, not just in-depth knowledge in their major, and a one-track mind.