Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's age, learning a second language is necessary for the modern education system. Some specialists think that the best period for the young to learn a new one is at primary rather than in high school. I totally agree that this opinion has more benefits than drawbacks. To begin with, there are some disadvantages of studying a foreign vocabulary since the beginning of education. The first reason is that the youngsters will become tired if learning words takes a lot of time and they don’t have enough time for their hobbies and their friends which may lead to the loss of social skills and relationships. As a result, any extra class should be in balance with personal life. For example, it can be enough to have just a few lessons a week, so that pupils still have some time for themselves. On the other hand, the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages. Initially, it is believed that children have exceptional abilities for learning new things and they can remember different good information since childhood is a period when it is easy to get used to many new things and create the habit of learning non-native languages from an early age. Secondly, learning a new way to communicate with other people will improve memory and cognitive functions. Moreover, kids can use these benefits to watch cartoons, listen to music or read books in other languages, consequently, it increases children’s access to world knowledge. In conclusion, learning a foreign words at an early age has both pros and cons. It can help the children to develop their skills and strengthen their interaction but also put pressure on them. However, I believe that the advantages of this will bring many chances for the kids to complete themself.