The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In the past, it might be true that one of the factors why the crime rate increased was because of little knowledge about technology owned by law enforcement authorities like police or prosecutors. It is undoubtedly known that when technology becomes more advanced, authorities can take advantage of it. However, I solely disagree that the crime rate is decreasing due to this reason. Firstly, the fluctuation of the crime rate relies a lot on how the authorities work. It is believed that the stronger the prosecution is the more reluctant people are to do harmful things, as they are facing potentially severe punishment. Therefore, law enforcement tasks use advanced methods to work efficiently in protecting society. Technology comes in handy such as minimising the efforts in solving complex crimes or even preventing them Meanwhile, at the same time, criminal perpetrators are also stepping up their game with the usage of technology. This helps to improve their methods of working, whether it involves hacking the system, sending impersonation messages to deceive the victims, or even using the internet to spread hate speech or revenge porn while being under an anonymous identity. Consequently, these acts create harm to someone's life, assets, or even to the whole society as they create fear and feelings of unsafe. To conclude, one could not say that the crime rate is decreasing when police and prosecutors are armed with advanced technology systems and devices. As many smart and tech-savvy culprits have their way of performing harmful acts, it is believed that authorities need to be more wary to prevent the rising criminal percentage in the present and future.