Reporting of crimes and other kinds of violent news on television and in newspapers can have adverse consquences. This kind of information should be restricted from being shown in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

News reports have become more available throughout the globe due to the help of television and the Internet. News of crimes and other types of morbid news seen on TV and in newspapers must be controlled from being shown in the media. I agree that news must be controlled, but it still depends on the situation. On the one hand, being up-to-date with regard to current news and affairs is critical to an individual. With the help of news stations and social media, information can spread faster and can even reach remote places. For instance, being updated on the happenings around you can help you to prepare and plan your day such as knowing where the heavy traffic is, typhoons, the price of goods and so much more. On the other hand, news should be restricted. Too much exposure can also result in tragedy. For example, the bus hostage-taking that happened a few years ago in the Philippines. The dismissed police kept a busload of tourists hostage in an attempt to be reinstated after losing his job due to corruption allegations. The authorities tried to mediate and asked him his demands. After a long, deliberation the criminal and the authority met an agreement., However due to the media covering the situation live. Everything ends up in tragedy. The criminal was watching the news inside the bus and learned the real intentions of the authorities. To conclude, media has its own advantages and disadvantages. It can help an individual to be well informed in the current affairs about his country and the whole world however, it has its own drawbacks like what happened in the bus hostage-taking. The government must mandate a law that restricts media from showing sensitive reports that can cause more harm than good.