It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is certainly true that these days, students choose to take a long break of one year before commencing their university education. However, not all the effects of this phenomenon have been positive, although there are certainly some advantages. There are several drawbacks of this trend of gap year followed by students. A common criticism is that they may lag behind in their studies. This is because, discontinuation of study routine might break their habit of keeping in touch with updated and authentic information related to their subjects. The other negative aspect can be their more inclination towards the habit of earning money. When they keep themselves more engaged in jobs, it can change their mindset of continuing education. Thus, they might drop the idea of continuing their further studies. In spite of these negative effects, however, having a year off has brought important benefits as well. One such advantage is that they would get some relaxation from their hectic schedule. During their free time, they could find more time to perform their favorite leisure activities Therefore, they could feel refreshed, which may give them boost to continue their further education. Another positive effect is that they could get sufficient time to research further in detail about better study options of their areas of interest such as collecting information on application processes of well-known universities like Melbourne University and many more. Consequently, all this would widen the scope of their knowledge. In conclusion, while there are some obvious drawbacks of having a gap year between school and commencing university, the leverage of enjoying some leisure time and utilizing it for further research of study options brought us many benefits at the same time.