Some people support the idea of imposing taxes on fossil fuels (oil, coil and gas) in order to reduce energy consumption. Other people disagree with this approach. Consider the debate and its arguments, and come to your own conclusion.

It is known that society is divided into two paradoxical attitudes. While some people believe that imposing taxes on fossil fuels is not necessary, I agree with those who think that this consequence must be applied due to reduce energy consumption. I'm going to discuss deeply this topic on my essay below. On the one hand, it is clear that by imposing taxes on oil, coil ad gas the consumers of this fossil fuels are gonna decrease rapidly, and consequently the energy consumption will. In my opinion this is the right way authorities should act, with the aim of avoiding many issues that characterise our society nowadays. Firstly, the use of fossil fuels increases the issue of climate change, which we are desperately trying to solve. Secondly, by affecting the climate it will also affect the society and other correlated aspects, such as global health, and so on... On the other hand, not everyone has the economic possibility to look for other sustainable options, hence, for what concern my experience, they disagree with the thesis I've just exposed in the previous paragraph. In this case applying taxes can be terribly harmful for their economic situation. One possible solution should be apply taxes to enterprises, that are not sustainable, or to the people who have a big availability in terms of money, and keep using gas instead of electricity. To conclude, I represent the part of society who agree that taxes should be applied and I think that many solutions can be found in order to solve this problem.