Some people say thhat the only reason for learnig a foreign langua is in order to tavel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's world learning a foreign language is a very common matter. There are individuals who believe that people learn foreign languages merely because they need it for travel or working abroad. Opponents of this review have ever think that there are other reasons for people to take up foreign language lessons. While travelling and working abroad are two major reasons of knowing a language I believe there are other factors that are equally significant. Working abroad or a trip to a foreign country are some of the main motifs of people to learn the language spoken in another place. First in order to qualify for many jobs companies have policies that make learning a foreign language a requirement. They need to know that the person taking the job is going to be capable of communicating with others in various capacities and won't have any difficulty conveying his thoughts through words. Also, an adequate grasp of a country's language is undeniably imperative for a traveller who's going to be in that country. This traveller will have to know some of the local languages to get around and enjoy his trip. On the other hand, we should return to the fact that learning a foreign language is not only because a person wants to have fun on his week-long journey to a certain country or needs a language certificate for the human resources department of a company. First of all there are hundreds of thousands of young people who apply for universities in foreign countries every year in the hopes of getting a better education and personal progress. Almost all of these countries have a policy in place to make sure their prospective students know the language of that country. As a result students usually have to take tests or have interviews with faculty members. For example, almost all universities in English-speaking countries need the scores of an internationally recognized test like the IELTS in order to ensure the applicant’s English is proficient. Secondly a person with no intention of travelling abroad or even a passport can still be in the need of learning a foreign language. University professors, foreign movie enthusiasts, and journalists are only a few of the groups of people who need to know a foreign language so that they can get the best version of what they want. It is thoroughly essential to keep in mind that a translated version of a scientific paper, a Tarantino movie, or the breaking news of an explosion in another country will probably be inaccurate incomplete and of course not worth it. In conclusion, it is true that people need to know the language of the country they're travelling to or going to work at. Nevertheless, these are not the only reason is because a student applying for a firm university or a person interested in watching movies will having a cool and considerable motivation to learn the language of another country.