Children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

It is widely recognized that children watch TV more than in the past giving rise to decrease their levels of activity. This essay will first outline the underlying reasons behind this trend before suggesting some ways to foster their high level of activity. The decrease in activity levels among children is attributed to the recent advancement of technology. One of these is that children can easily get access to fascinating TV channels and programs attracting their mindset. Consequently, this is inclined to render them vulnerable to addiction to watching TV and not to engage in other activities such as reading books or playing puzzles. Addition to this, everything for their activities is available in front of the screen thanks to Internet. This can be seen in this way, if a child wants to learn about glass painting, he will search on Youtube containing a plethora of tutorial videos without having to attend physical classes. In order to encourage children ’s high levels of activity, the assistants of parents are wholly warranted. First of all, parents should make rules regarding to the watch time for children. Children tend to watch TV as long as they want if nobody manages their watching time. Parents, therefore, should allow them to watch TV two or three hours per day, it will help them to take part in more physical activities. Furthermore, going for an evening walk along the beaches or visiting parks would reduce their addiction to TV. Besides, these activities also pique curiosity and creativity of children. To conclude, due to technology development, children are less engaged in other activities. For this reason, parents should intervene in their watching time and incentive them to participate in other activities.