In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

During recent times, it is evident that the public prefers to purchase necessities in shopping complexes rather than visiting small local shops. I unequivocally believe that, this is indeed a negative development for the local shop owners because they are running out of business. People prefer shopping malls because a plethora of shops, selling a greater variety of products, is avaiable in a single complex or building. Nowadays, with many involved in the hustle and bustle culture, people do not have sufficient time in order to visit different local shops to purchase different items. Instead, they believe stopping by a mall, would help them save time as all goods are available under one roof. However, the growth of shopping complexes put local businesses at a disadvantage. The reason is that, as lesser customers visit local shops, the amount of profits received substantially reduces, to a point after which the business cannot be sustained. Hence, the shops close and the locals working there become unemployed. Many people working in local businesses are already citizens of the nation who are faced with poverty. Stripping their only job from them would cause further damage as their basic needs such as housing, food, clothing and medical care can no longer be met. In conclusion, although it is convenient for us to shop at malls, we need to keep in mind about the downfall of local businesses, and their workers. If not us, who would support them?