Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as everyday basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance. TO what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to emerging globalisation, many items that are used on a daily basis and are manufactured abroad, need to be imported. This essay will demonstrate that people get a variety of options to choose from but will also show how local producers are affected. Whilst acknowledging that there are benefits, the essay will argue that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. One of the main advantages is that it increases customer satisfaction. Due to the internet and multinational companies, citizens are aware of the products available around the globe. Therefore, they are interested in purchasing items of their choice regardless of where they come from. Furthermore, possession of such things serves as a status symbol. A reason could be sensitivity. New migrants may intend to purchase products that they have been utilising in their previous host country. For example, due to sensitive skin problems, women purchase skin care products that suit them, whereas, these products might be manufactured in a different region. Hence, the availability of items from various areas levels up the scope of consumer contentment. However, the regional manufacturers suffer adverse consequences. Firstly, their products are sold less due to price factors. Giant corporations have production strategies where they produce things at a reasonable price, whereas, local producers have a high cost of production. Because of low,profit they are incapable of meeting the demands of customers. For instance, Nepal is a rich country in terms of herbal plants. Unfortunately, the local market that makes daily use products like soap and toothpaste with herbs struggles to sustain itself due to high competition with multinational companies. Hence, insite producers should be protected by buying their products. In conclusion, although most required items are imported, local markets should be safeguarded to boost the national economy and employment. Hence, the drawbacks of multinational companies' products outweigh the benefits.