Many teenagers now have their smart phones. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion?

It is been argued by some people whether parents should provide mobile phones to their children during their teenage. I agree with the fact that it is the right thing to do because it assists them in monitoring them, but issues with the academics are a concerning drawback. The evident benefit of providing these gadgets to young adults is that they help the parents to keep the kids safe. With the help of, this they can know the whereabouts as it creates a way for them to track the locations in case of an emergency. For example, as per the FBI,reports they were able to track major child kidnappers due to the location shared by smartphones provided to them by the guardians. I believe that parents should take certain measures to provide safety to their kids. The disadvantage to this can be that due to the multiple features available in these,gadgets can distract them from studies. Due to the evolution and attraction of,gaming kids tend to spend more time on that instead of studying which affects their academic performance. For instance, as per a recent survey conducted by a high school in China, 85% of students were attracted towards gaming discussion as compared to the courses. As children are the future of the country they should be more focused towards studies which can help them to be successful in life. To conclude, although gadgets can divert the focus of teenagers from academics, I think they help parents keep them safe. Therefore, it is crucial for guardians to teach teens to make the right use of it.