Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. What could be the reasons behind this? What measures can be taken to resolve this problem?

Nowadays many people are migrating to bigger cities because of a lack of opportunities in rural areas or smaller cities to fulfil their dreams and find suitable jobs. This migration phenomenon has created a lot of complexities in metropolitan areas which is impacting the quality of life of people residing there. In this essay, I will discuss some of the common issues and solutions for them. The potential challenges of urbanization are price inflation, shortage of resources, and fast-paced life. Individuals are feeling depressed due to a lack of social connections, improper sleep patterns, and overloaded work environments. Due to the increase in the cost of living and the overpriced property market, everyone is working hard to earn more money at the expense of their own health. Nevertheless, there is a scarcity of water, and the air population index is above the safe level. For instance, a report published by WHO states that a plethora of cities that are densely populated are highly polluted. The citizens who are less well off there are experiencing a lower standard of life and sometimes migrants are forced to live in slum areas as well. Proper city planning, extensive investment in infrastructure and public transport, and development of parks, sports areas, and other amenities can contribute a lot to resolving such problems. Governments should also plan to provide subsidies in hospitals and schools to make it easily accessible for poor or middle-class people. For example, a better public transport system can significantly help in reducing air pollution. Similarly, if the city planner makes the water harvesting system mandatory during the construction of new buildings, then the water scarcity problems can be dealt with. Additionally, an affordable healthcare system will contribute to raising the standard of life. To conclude, the city with more opportunities influences more migrations to come and thus causing the extra pressure on existing infrastructure and public services. Therefore, we need to have a better city planning system and increased subsidies in public sectors by government.