A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

People are becoming more and more superficial as the days pass by. It is true that a man is being evaluated based on his wealth rather than by his personality. But, as spirituality is on the rise everywhere, I feel the society is becoming softer and kinder. Although I partly agree that people can be negative, on a positive note, I also think that humanity is growing to be better. As the world is running towards a more modern and commercialised space, it is forgetting its values. With an increased population shifting to the urban cities in search for employment, they seem to be leaving behind their traditions and culture. For instance, most of my friends’ parents moved to a city from their native village when they were young and started a family. Now, majority of my generation struggles with understanding the ways of village folk, basic humanitarian values and traditions. Instead, there’s always a hunger for money and material things like luxury cars, bigger and better houses, etc. In this competition, one is becoming selfish and is ready to backstab anyone. This ultimately is leading to everyone being judged based on their looks and status and not based on an individual’s personality. With this kind of negativity on the rise, spiritual leaders are propagating love and kindness all over the world. They are reminding us of our basic values like happiness from little things, being kind to everyone and overall being a good human being. Take for example, Bill Gates, who is the world’s richest man. Not only does he donate most of his wealth and time to the charity, he also started a foundation along with his wife, Matilda Gates to help the needy. If you see, the more successful one is, the kinder they are. Social media has a huge rule to play in this. The society seems to encourage one another to be nicer and be better every day. To conclude, the world does look bad sometimes with its materialisation but there’s also a lot of good citizens in it trying to make it a better place to live.