Crime is a major issue in the world, and many believe that nothing can be done to totally prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Provide relevant examples if necessary.

Many people believe that Crime is one of the major concerns and there are not enough measures to totally prevent it. I partially agree with this thought. Though it is not possible to completely eradicate crime across the globe, there are measures that can be implemented to reduce criminal activities to a great extent. Firstly, crime happens in cases where there is no fear of punishment. Mostly, it is due to lenient law enforcement in the country. To prevent any such activities, law enforcement and punishment for illegal activity should be very strict without any exceptions. There should not be a crime without dire consequences. For example, some of the European countries have very strict laws when it comes to women’s safety and as a result, there are significantly lesser number of incidents reported for such cases. The implementation of above mentioned can help bring down the unwanted activities to a noticeable number. Secondly, inhibiting moral values in youth through education can be helpful in bringing down juvenile cases. Incorporating moral values in early education curricula can design young minds in the right direction and can help them avoid the activities that can lead to a criminal mindset. To support the statement, Kerala can be considered as a perfect example. Kerala is the Indian state with the highest literacy resulting in a low number of juvie cases compared to other states of India with low literacy rates. To conclude, I believe that misdeeds and illegal activities can be reduced with stricter rules and the right education, and we can take a step towards a completely crime -free nation. A no- crime nation will be a dream come true for all.