Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children. Do [you think] the advantage outweight the disadvantage.

Although paid work is thought by some to be a useful experience for children, other people consider that it can be detrimental. In my opinion, I think that paid work can bring about more problems for children compared to any advantages it might bring. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of children working for money. Firstly, children can develop an understanding of the value of money. This teaches them that money does not grow on trees and helps them appreciate the hard work needed to earn it. Secondly, they take the first step in learning how to manage money. Many older children, for instance, have a part-time job in order to save for something they would otherwise be unable to afford. Understanding money management, furthermore, is useful when, as adults, they will need to balance their finances. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe children could face serious drawbacks from paid work. One potentially dangerous problem is that it exposes them to exploitation through slave labour. In some countries that do not enforce child employment laws, they may end up working under extreme conditions or even in life-threatening situations for negligible wages. Starting life in this way makes it almost impossible for them to escape poverty as an adult. Another obvious issue is that working may affect a child’s ability to focus on their school work. This is a concern as only with a strong academic performance can a child hope to advance as an adult. In conclusion, being exploited or struggling with academic grades far outweighs any of the minor benefits that could result from children being involved in work experience.