Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, there has been more and more emphasis on health. Some argue that there is too much sugar in the product such as food and drinks available in the market which leads to health problems. The Government should charge an additional fee for sugary products that contain a high level of sugar. I personally agree with this approach and I will list out some the of benefits below. Firstly, charging higher prices will definitely reduce people's consumption of sugary products. Sometimes, people are unaware of the number of carbohydrates contained in the sugary products such as drinks they purchase, as the manufacturer intends to find ways to emphasise their products as more healthy even though they are not. For instance, some juice shops label themselves healthier as the freshness of the juice. However, they even do not inform their customers about the amount of sugar contained in one regular size juice, which can be extremely high for some items such as grape juice. Secondly, making these unhealthy products more expensive will help consumers make better choices when purchasing the product. Furthermore, they are simply bad for health and lead to many problems such as obesity, diabetes, heart problems and tooth decay. With more and more people switching to healthier products, the nation will definitely benefit from saving on healthcare in the long run. In conclusion, sugary products are harmful to people's well-being and higher charges should be taken in order to control the carbohydrate intake and eventually improve the health of the population.