Increasing numbers of students are going to university instead of working after high school. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people who do this?

The number of students directly enrolling in university after completing high school has been on a significant rise. This poses numerous benefits including no gap in an education, resulting in an increasing focus during graduate school but there are also numerous drawbacks to consider here. Firstly, one benefit of the rising trend in direct enrollment after high school graduation, leads to absence of gap in an education. This in turn results in a good understanding of the subjects along with its application, ultimately, leading to a better grip on the course. Secondly, after graduating directly from university, they can earn a good package, instead of doing job for mediocre salary between schools owing to absence of specialization. Thirdly, it can offer good concentration to the students. Elon Musk, for instance, received financial help from his parents during school, which took away the burden of studying and paying for tuition making him a physics enthusiasts and paving way for founding numerous companies. On the other hand, one major problem schoolgoers face is the absence of work experience right out of the high school. This can be a major drawback as students, otherwise, will only receive theoretical knowledge and will find it hard to connect the dots between real world jobs and school subjects, consequently proving it to be detrimental in the long run. Moreover, after getting a financial support from parents for advanced education, students don’t know the true value of money. For example, such students don’t focus well enough on their studies and can become victims of bad habits such as smoking, and drugs at an early age, which in turn affects their grades. Lastly, such high school graduates need to deal with paltry pay due to absence of specialization or concentrated skillsets. In conclusion, while there are numerous benefits of doing higher education straight out of the high school, however, the shortcomings of void of formal experience and concentrated skillsets along with association to bad habits are hard to dismiss.