Nowadays in many countries chemicals are used to produce and preserve food. Do the advantages of this use outweigh the disadvantages?

Producing and conserving the food is of the utmost requirement to continuously feed the mankind, and in order to achieve that many countries resort to an increasing use of chemicals. In my opinion, insecticides and pesticides bring about more severe problems to the countries than the benefits it poses. Admittedly, there are numerouse benefits of using chemicals for food preservation. First and foremost, it results in an increased shelf-life not just for the refrigerated products but also for a product at a room temperature. This can be quite useful, for instance, in exporting exotic fruits and vegetables like dates and jackfruit, across the globe and cross country. Additionally, the yield quality of the food is also enhanced with insecticides to counteract insects, pests and rodents, which in turn promotes food cultivation year around and enhanced food security to the nation. Moreover, local chemical businesses also get a boost in earnings due to the increased usage from the farmers. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe there are quite a few serious drawbacks of such development. One potentially dangerous problem is that it causes significant environmental damage by impacting soil fertility and causing water pollution. With the enhanced use of pesticides along with water for irrigation, chemical seepage occurs resulting in a contaminated water table and decreasing soil fertility in the long run. Another obvious problem is the increased food contamination with traces of chemicals, which is the leading reason for deadly diseases like cancer and eye-sight problem in younger generations. Lastly, chemical production and dispensing results in harmful fumes and gases, which, for example, in India has been a leading cause of death to the farmers due to continuous exposure during manual application. In conclusion, serious environmental damages such as the soil fertility reduction, water pollution and health risks posed to the humans far outweighs any minor benefits that could result from increased food preservation and yield quality.