In recent years, people watch more movies from overseas. What are the reasons for this? Should the government give financial support to local cinema to produce local films?

It has become a common habit to observe people watch international movies rather than their local films. There are obviously a number of reasons for this act. This essay will look at the perpetuating factors responsible for this and explore reasons to support the fact that our local film industries will benefit from financial aid from the government. On the one hand, the world has become a global village and with technological advancement, it has become easy for a person in one country to have access to movies made from different countries. Truth be told, the quality of western movies are quite high. A lot of efforts, expertise and professionalism on the part of the actors, the producers and directors alike goes into play to produce an excellent results. A scene is usually edited several times to attain good outcome. Also, some logistics used in the movie production such as cameras are of high quality and have very good specifications that creates a result appealing to the viewers. Finally, a number of our local actors earn amounts that are not substantial from their acting career. This necessitates the need for them to take up these roles as part time jobs to enable them make ends meet. In view of this, they are unable to give off their best to a particular movie as they are usually in a hurry to move from one movie onto the next or one job to the other. This is not true of the international stars. Their sole work is acting. Money as known is key to achieving all of the above listed factors. The sales obtained from the local movie industry isn't much and the team are unable to pay their workers well. It will be very beneficial if these local movie producers could obtain support from government and even other kind hearted individuals to improve editing, directing and also to purchase high quality cameras and employ professional actors to make movies comparative to the international standards. To sum up, financial assistance will go a long way to enhance the patronage of our local films and make them competitive to the foreign movies.