The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, every time we turn on the television or flick through the pages of newspapers, we learn about the impact of social media. There are some concerns about whether these platforms eliminate the direct interaction between people and the public and community or not. In this essay, I will look at the pros and cons and also draw some conclusions. First of all, overreliance on social platforms can lead to fewer connections in the community. A large number of users are surfing TikTok, and Facebook on a daily basis, for example, because the core content is so highly addictive and occupies the majority of their time. As a result, those who sit still in front of their smartphone screens gradually forget about family reunions. Besides, some advanced functions and applications allow FaceTime, which means that they can call and have a face chat at any time of the day. However, without meeting in person, online calling will sometimes lead to misunderstanding if the internet connection is not stable or individuals cannot grasp the innermost of others. On the other hand, social networks are beneficial due to their convenience. There are some features from them that can help solve the problems, especially in case of emergency. For instance, an app called Zalo in Vietnam enables people to have a group video call even though there is no WIFI nearby, which facilitates transferring the news urgently without the need to gather. In addition, long-distance relationships are truly in high demand of support from technology to carry on online calls since they are unable to see face-to-face at that moment. In conclusion, social media does have positives and drawbacks in daily life. Although sometimes individuals can be overattached to it hence causing fewer reactions to family and friends, I do believe that the advantages can outweigh its disadvantages owing to its flexibility and excellent support.