Loneliness is an increasing problem in many societies, especially among the elderly. Why is this? How might it be remedied?

It is an irrefutable fact that many people have become isolated because of the departure of their family members to other cities, and due to fast-paced life in metropolitans where individuals do not have time to connect. This isolation leads to loneliness among human beings, especially aged persons. In this essay, I will discuss some of the common reasons responsible for this issue and prospective solutions for it. One of the reasons for this problem is people are moving to cities to lead a better lifestyle leaving old parents in villages. Another reason is unlike in the old era, youngsters nowadays prefer to have nuclear families and socialize over social media platforms rather than physical and emotional relationships. There are many families where youngsters and parents live together but it is sometimes impossible for both to have verbal communication because of the fast-paced lifestyle. For example, husband and wife prefer to work in this modern era. Therefore, it is almost impossible for both to take care of other family members or have talks therefore modern human beings isolate family members to other places. The prospective solution for the above problems can be that the government should bring policies to create opportunities in small cities to stop citizens from moving to another place and staying with families. Another solution could be that individuals should spend time with family members and look after each other. The government should open parks as well where one person can socialize with another irrespective of age group. For instance, if there is a park where certain activities like Yoga are organised for aged persons then it will help individuals in socializing. This way, one will not feel lonely. To conclude, loneliness is a serious issue and the young generation must understand the value of physical connection and emotional touch rather than having conversations over media platforms so that old people can deal with it.