In many countries, formal exams are used to assess students’ abilities and to judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assess students’ abilities? Do you think the benefits of using formal exams outweigh the drawbacks?

Most countries conduct tests to judge students’ knowledge of a subject. While this approach may not assess the entire skillset one possesses, exams are necessary as it is a very useful way to grade people according to a standard system. On the one hand, exams are held 3-4 times a year and the test -takers are notified well in advance about them. This gives them a chance to prepare and do well on the main day. A few teachers even revise the material and help students get good marks. Furthermore, questions asked these days are practical-oriented and make students think rather than write a memorised answer. This can test real-life applications on the topic and student's ability to think under test conditions. In the end, a standard marking criteria is used and marks are allotted that tell how smart a student is. These marks can be used in the future as a reference to how well-versed a pupil is in regard to a subject. On the other hand, many suffer from performance anxiety and may end up not doing well. This might falsely grade a bright student with a low score even though they studied thoroughly for the exam. A few tests might even have a high passing mark which puts a lot of pressure on the main day. This stress, in the long run, can affect the intelligence and decision-making process of the individual. Moreover, exams test a person in controlled conditions with a limited time period, which is unrealistic. Real-life situations are sudden, with no time to prepare and use other skills like the ability to think fast, act fast and be sharp and smart in general. Written exams, in no way test these skills, which can be a drawback. In conclusion, I think the positives outweigh the negatives. Although, the stress and anxiety issues cannot be ignored, exams are essential as they provide proof of knowledge and grades that are useful for future reference.