People in many countries are spending less time with their families. What are the reasons and effect of this?

familial obligations have long been a topic of numerous debates, particularly in contemporary societies. In this regard, many people claim that, nowadays, interaction between family members is declining substantially. Obviously, there are many factors behind this and certain consequences could happen because of this unpleasant trend. To begin with, one of the main reasons why people spend less time with each other in the family, lies in the fact that technological innovations have changed the way people live and spend their free time. In the past, because of limited recreational possibilities, even in big cities, people had to pursue their leisure time with their families in the home environment, whereas, in contrast, these days, people, especially youngsters, are more tech-savvy and prefer to indulge themselves in modern phenomenons like social media platforms and other applications on their smartphones. Accordingly, they have been cut off from their immediate surroundings in their house. Moreover, because of the fast-paced transformation of individuals' lifestyles as well as their attitudes, the differences in perspective on life among members of one family have been increasing in recent years. For example, in an ordinary family, while parents enjoy attending family parties, children are more inclined toward acting like their close friends which is nothing but pushing themselves to the limits and pursuing adventure or doing extreme sports. However, the weakening of family bonds could bring detrimental impacts. The most fundamental could be that family members will lose the unwavering support they always had in the previous generations. Consequently, they cannot turn to each other in times of difficulty in order to get either emotional or financial support, as the sense of belonging to one family is abandoned these days. For example, in the UK, children rarely receive financial assistance from their parents after the age of 18, which is essential for establishing a new life. Apart from that, the rate of divorce and loss of relationships is growing noticeably due to the lack of enough heart-to-heart chat between family members to heal the rifts. For this reason, small conflicts between siblings, for instance, could become critical simply due to inconsistent family ties. This is undesirable for the simple reason if children fail to satisfy their emotional needs the family will have to face mental breakdowns such as isolation and depression throughout their entire life. To sum up, it is obvious that big breakthroughs in technology in conjunction with various attitudes have resulted in lower interaction between people in a family in recent years. This inevitable trend is undesirable since not only children will suffer from the absence of unwavering support from their parents, but also they could suffer from mental problems in the future.