The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalization is extremely common across the entire world and with it, comes the English language. As of now, the youth of many countries are encouraged to learn English as people both celebrate and express concerns about its spread. This essay will discuss both the withdrawal and benefits of this matter, and explain why the latter outweighs the former. To begin with, it should be understood that language is tied to culture in an intricate manner. In other words, English's spread could dominate a country's native language and in turn, erase a crucial part of its culture. To exemplify, the rise of English has made many native languages fall under obscurity, which also rendered books, songs and stories in the tongue to fade from the population's cognition. In opposition to this, we should also note that the beneficial side of globalization is practically undeniable. First and foremost, the existence of a universal language would push for the collaboration and union of the globe by eliminating the language barrier. Secondly, English's popularity urges many people to learn a second language, which helps develop their brains. Many studies show that learning another language increases brain activity. Not only that, people who are bilingual exhibit greater brain performance than people who know only one language. Last but not least, English also encourages the intertwining of cultures, where countries adopt the Western culture and mix it with their own to further enhance it. An example of this would be the French's domination of Vietnam in the past, which created some of the best cuisine that Vietnam has to offer. Globalization can encourage these instances and enhance cultures in a much more peaceful manner. In conclusion, the spread of English can unhealthily impact a country's uniqueness and cultural values. However, such a drawback is overshadowed by its usage to abolish the language barrier, develop people's brains and allow people to exchange their culture and enhance it. Therefore, it is my personal belief that English's popularity's positive influence outweighs its negative sides.