Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages? Same-age individuals indeed have a significant impact on each other. While there are a lot of serious negative consequences of peer pressure, I will argue that these outweigh the advantages. There are various reasons why peer pressure might be considered detrimental. Firstly, young people may be influenced or forced to perform in a way that may lead them to commit a crime or be addicted to drug use that gets them into trouble. Secondly, they may be persuaded by their friends in a way that changes their future path. For example, they might be convinced to drop out of school or make money from immoral and illegal ways. Finally, adolescents may behave like their peers and pretend to be something they are not to not lose their attention or not get offended by them. Despite these negative effects, I believe if children choose their peers well, they can help them grow and flourish. Being influenced by others is inevitable and if children are surrounded by people who have a good impact on them, they improve themselves and make better decisions. In this way, parents and schools should teach and inform how should they select their friends. Because as much as peers can have a negative impact, they can also cause growth and increase in self-confidence. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of peers may be higher than the drawbacks.