In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that, in the modern era, lots of businesses often focus people's attention on the innovation of their products in their advertisements. This practice can be attributed to a number of reasons and I am personally of the opinion that this trend will likely be a positive development. There are two primary reasons associated with this phenomenon. Firstly, by pointing up the value of new features of their products, businesses could attract more consumers, and as a result, they could generate more profits. This can be exemplified in the case of smartphones, as every year, brands in this field always come up with new versions of their products, and they often state that new smartphones come with new technologies and added features such as more camera lenses or new chipsets for better performance. Consequently, buyers, especially those finding up-to-date products tend to pay for them. The second reason can be ascribed to the competitiveness between companies in the same industry. One business may compete with another by introducing and spotlighting its innovation and this is true in terms of development as companies always seek to be the leading one in their field. From my point of view, such a practice like this is definitely a positive development. As a matter of fact, all of these actions are a part of competition between the suppliers which eventually is crucial to not just the growth of the company itself, but also that of the economy as well. In addition, rivalry among businesses would allow various choices for consumers, as more upgraded products are released every year, people would have more options to find the perfect product that meets their requirements the most. In conclusion, this practice is a result of competitiveness and financial purposes among businesses. Furthermore, I am inclined to the view that this is a beneficial development.