Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Certain pupils in the college hope to take various programs apart from their major, while opponents suggest that they should concentrate on their original major in order to secure a qualification. While I do not deny that learning different subjects can benefit the way they think, I still believe that focusing on their primary courses is better for the pupils. To begin with, the former group might support their idea with the following arguments. Studying various courses may encourage students to think flexibly. To elaborate, the pupils can obtain a large amount of information and knowledge through this approach. A wide spectrum of ideas will propel learners to combine unrelated information with their major altogether, subsequently enhancing their range of knowledge. As a result, they will think more flexible in this process. The caveat to this approach is that they are quite easy to get distracted by consuming their time on irrelevant programs apart from their main courses. Hence, affecting their performance in tertiary terms. However, while it is undeniably important to possess flexible thinking in the contemporary world by acquiring a variety of knowledge in the university, most of the high vacancies require professional employees with corresponding certification in their proficient field, occupations such as doctors, lawyers, and engineers that belong to the high-salary brackets. Concentrating on their major during college times is likely to ensure them secure the high possibility of certificate attainment. Conversely, assuming the pupils are studying other subjects and their main professions at the same time, they are unlikely to pass such difficult tests in terms they might get distracted by other lessons. This again proves that putting effort into one major is more pivotal than striking multiple lessons in the meantime. To conclude, although a flexible mind is crucial, I still believe that pupils should focus on the major they selected initially due to the fact that it is considered helpful to their future prospects.