In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that humans are living longer than they have ever been. Certain part of individuals claim that senior citizens are prone to generate trouble for governments, while other people consider the elderly as being supportive of this society. In my opinion, the advantages of having the elderly group in our society certainly outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, opponents might support their ideas with these arguments. An ageing population may increase the burden on society. To elaborate, the governments may allocate more societal budgets to the domain of senior citizens' healthcare to maintain a decent standard of living. Subsequently, there is only a tiny fraction of resources would be utilized for relatively essential parts, such as diplomacy and infrastructure. In addition, ageing people might cause insufficient productivity as well. Since they no longer possess the ability to give birth, representing the shortage of labour force in the distant future. On the other hand, even though having an ageing population has visible drawbacks, they are not insurmountable and are outweighed by the following benefits. It is undeniable that elder people have the potential to foster the economy. In Taiwan, for instance, two-thirds of wealth is possessed by a group of senior habitants. Implying that the elderly withhold unimaginable purchasing power nowadays. As a result, concomitantly enhances the economy of regions in this process. Secondly, the elderly can protect the precious techniques in many industries. Undoubtedly, senior citizens possess more experience in comparison with youngsters. With their valuable knowledge and skills, such exclusive measures in agriculture and energy conservation can be passed to the next generation and their offspring. To conclude, having an elderly population has its own defects, while I still believe that the benefits like strengthening the economy and maintaining special skills are considered much more crucial than that. Hence, the advantages of having senior people in our society virtually outweigh the demerits.