Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, it is said that young people are not aware of the working environment and schools should send children to work placements so that they can work along with studying the main course. In my point of view, I partly agree with this statement and the explanations will be included in this essay. Firstly, working part-time before having an official job can provide teenagers with various experiences while they are still studying at school. For example, children could know what skills are necessary and needed for a job and prepare better for them. This is very convenient as they can gain practical knowledge about their future job and some years of experience earlier than usual. Furthermore, spending time and effort to work can help teenagers realize the value of money, which is very essential. For instance, when they are in a working environment, children have to work very hard and they will know that it is not simple to make cash. Therefore, they will cherish the precious money and the hard work of their parents. However, on the contrary, spending time working and studying at school at the same time can interrupt students’ academic progress. For example, students would have many concerns about their work or may be money that they cannot focus completely on their study. As a result, children’s scores at school will be lower than expected. To sum up, working while they are still students has more benefits than disadvantages. It is expected that in the future, this method will be more common.