Shops should not be allowed to sell any food and drinks that has been scientifically proved to be bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, there has been a heated controversy about unhealthy food. Some folk hold the point that the government should check the quality of food and strictly prohibit shops from offering harmful food. From my perspective, this program is of crucial significance for individuals and society. Some people may claim that this process could be costly and testing the products could take up public resources. There are dozens of stores and their corresponding products in one single city. Checking them separately will definitely require numerous funds and labour forces, adding great pressure on relevant departures. In addition, this law will barricade small businesses like individual food makers and sellers from developping themselves, so they are discouraged from their activities. However, these consequences are kind of short-view. The populace will have a better health level, which boosts social welfare on a larger scale. Just like what we have witnessed in the previous social reforms. To begin with, people are highly influenced to buy such commodities if shops still provide and advertise them. To be specific, the masses are tempted customers to drink soft drinks like Coke and Pepsi, even though people recognize the potential impacts on their physical health due to the excessive sodium which can lead to obesity and even diabetes. By contrast, if shops replaced these beverages with healthy alternatives such as fresh juice with no external sugar, customers would be encouraged to adopt healthy eating habits and they would be less likely to be affected by nutrition-related diseases. Due to a recent research, employees who meet good fitness standards show not only higher effectiveness during working, but also better psychological soundness. In a nutshell, though this suggestion could destroy several small firms, it can benefit the individuals as well as the whole society. I believe the government should improve relative regulations to reach such a goal.