Today more people are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What is the main effect of this?

Overweight is of concern in today's world. My essay seeks to look at some causes and effects of this problem. To begin with, lack of exercise is a primary factor. The most perpetuating reason being white collar careers which likely prohibit people from being active. For instance, Ama Adomah my banker friend, has gained significant weight over a period of 1 year of gaining employment. Her lifestyle is sedentary as she spends several hours sitting to serve customers. Also, she barely is able to make time to engage in physical activities as she works for long hours and gets home late. Sadly, most people are making money at the expense of their health. Next is poor eating habits. Most individuals have busy life schedule that makes it difficult for them to have time to eat healthy meals. For example, working as a doctor in Ghana, I spend close to 12 hours at work each day. This has made it impossible for me to cook and eat at home. I mostly consume fast food to be able to keep up with the busy lifestyle. These fast foods are prepared for commercial purposes and mostly contain large quantities of fats and oils. Studies has proven a strong association between weight gain and high fat consumption. Unfortunately, having a busy lifestyle is making people not capable of making healthy meal choices. Meanwhile, there are numerous negative effects of obesity. The prime of which is development of cardiovascular disease. The heart pumps blood around our bodies and this pump doesn't work well in people with huge body weight. Other important health related issues linked to overweight are stroke, diabetes and hypertension. People who gain so much weight can develop a low self esteem to. To sum up, there are several factors that can give rise to obesity, mainly sedentary lifestyle and poor eating choices. These consequently leads to adverse health problems.