Government should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that the government should allocate more money on building railways rather than roads. I unequivocally agree with this statement for two reasons. The first reason is that building public transport and promoting them could reduce air pollution, in addition to saving lives that is otherwise lost due to road accidents. The population of the world is increasing at a rapid rate and many prefer commuting using their private automobiles such as cars or bikes. Hence, as more people use private transport, more exhaust gases such as CO₂ and CO are released into the atmosphere. This increases the air pollution which in turn results in global warming. For instance, the University of Texas published a study stating that air pollution has increased in the US by 5% as automobile ownership increased by 20%. As seen evidently, there is a direct correlation between the two and using public transports such as trains could reduce global warming. Similarly, an increased congestion in roads is an effect of overpopulation, and has resulted in abundant road accidents. For example, surveys state that the road accidents has increased by 10% in 2023 due to increased cogestion and traffic. Hence, relying on public transport such as trains could be a safer option. In addition, one gets to reach their destination faster as railway tracks aren't faced with traffic. In conclusion, although building roads could mean that one could comfortably travel from one point to another, building more railways could reduce the threats caused due to global warming.