More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, people prefer to buy branded products more than in the past. In this essay, I will illustrate the reasons behind this and discuss its negative and positive impacts too. There is an increased flux of customers towards renowned brands because of their quality and dignity. The products of famous brands are produced with high-quality materials since they have charged their customers higher prices, therefore they have sufficient financial resources to cover these expenses. For instance, a Gucci bag costs more than 5,000 dollars and it is made with natural leather. Moreover, people feel that they belong to the top-level social class, when they wear these expensive goods, since these merchandise are prominent as they capture the attention of other people to the person, who wears them. When individuals pay for branded products, the competition between brands rises as they endeavour to have more special items that can be visible to customers. Although this competition leads to brilliant innovation, it is costly for people. Individuals have to allocate more money to be able to buy these items, therefore they need extra financial resources or they need to work longer and harder to cover the price. Moreover, fake brands are becoming widespread since there is a huge demand in the market that brand companies can not satisfy them. As a result, these companies will have great revenue, however, their merchandise may not be as good as the original one. For instance, there are numerous copies of iPhones with diverse prices in the market because of their popularity among nations. In conclusion, the high-end quality and feeling of elegance influence people to buy expensive branded items. I personally believe that it is a negative development since these items cause financial pressure for people while they are not essential for living and fake goods become prevalent in the market.