Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugars which cause many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many businesses in the food and beverages industry use a lot of sugars in their products which results in various health risks. Due to this belief, many people argue that the price of sugary products should be increased to discourage people from consuming sugar. While there are some benefits to this idea, I maintain the opinion that there should not be any adjustment to the price. On the one hand, the argument that sugary products should cost more than usual is beneficial to some extent. This action would immediately influence the mindset of consumers, especially those who are on a tight budget. Eventually, at a certain level, people would consume less of this substance. However, this practice would probably not be effective for those who are addicted to it, even if they are financially poor. On the other hand, there are two primary reasons why I also believe that the price of sugary products should not be adjusted to be more expensive. Firstly, sugar is a necessary substance for the human body. If the price of sweet-tasting food and beverages increases, the people who cannot afford to buy costly products will ultimately stop consuming sugar. Consequently, due to the lack of this substance, they would likely have certain health problems. Secondly, most foods and drinks these days contain sugar, and if the price of these products is made more expensive, people will need to spend more money to purchase and, eventually this action will cause inflation in the domestic economy. In conclusion, although increasing the price of sugary products presents certain advantages, I contend that it should not be encouraged to perform that action. It is advisable that businesses should acknowledge the health of the consumers by starting to reduce the amount of sugar in their products.