In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new houses. Some people think that people can choose to build houses in their own styles instead of building them with the same style as the old house style in local areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last two or three decades, the way people live has changed dramatically due to advancements in technology. Nowadays, people prefer to style their houses in the modern way they like rather than building them in the ancient style of homes in rural areas. Although, old homes can keep individuals connected with their culture and roots, constructing homes according to likings is important to make the place worth living. I believe that this advantage far outweighs any potential disadvantages. I will start by looking at the advantages. The main reason behind the construction of homes as per the preferences is the availability of modern facilities which make life easier which can not be found in old built homes. In addition, people are addicted to the facilities provided by technology and they find it very hard to live without them. For example, in newly designed homes, doors and windows are automatic and can be opened or closed with just a click of a remote which is not the case in previous residential places. Another worth considering the reason for control over the design of accommodation is the material used and appliances in construction because a person would try to build his home with good and long-lasting materials while keeping in mind durability. For instance, there is internal fitting of air conditioners in new homes, and refrigerators can be fixed in one place which makes life convenient and easy while it was not possible in the case of traditional places. On the other hand, the houses built in an old mannered have cultural significance and they keep people connected with their origin. Moreover, because of the lack of modern facilities, individuals have to do most of the work on their own which keeps them active and healthy. To conclude, the attachment to traditional things can be negatively affected by designing houses according to the new style but the amenities available in newly constructed places are important to make people's lives easier.