The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree? (17/1/21; 14GT-2; 5)

It is argued that purchasing on the Internet will make local shops run out of business. I disagree with that because consumers do like to purchase a thing after trying it out and additionally the process of returning things is a lot simpler as compared to returning an online purchased product. The first reason for my disagreement is that whenever someone buys anything they want to make sure that it fulfils the purpose. While making an online purchase the buyers are only shown with pictures which does not help them to understand the size, looks and specifications which sometimes leads to buying incorrect merchandise. For example, as per a survey conducted by,Amazon there are 80% of people prefer to buy things the traditional way by visiting the store. A further reason is that if in case an incorrect sale is been made there are a lot of hassles for a consumer to return that merchandise. When a customer receives the commodity which they bought online and realises that it was not something they were looking for results in the goods being sent back to the seller and the refund being issued back to the buyer. This whole process takes a lot of time which sometimes causes people to change their minds about conducting a sale. For instance, as per the report from, Alibaba more than 60% of the goods bought online were sent back to the seller due to multiple reasons. In conclusion, I firmly believe that online shopping is not a threat to local shops due to the unavailability of testing for consumers and multiple hassles for them to be returned in case of a mismatch.