You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, learning from the past can be interpreted in two ways. Many societies believe that there is nothing to remember and learn from previous lives, while others think that experiences are the best teacher. This essay will elaborate on the two points of view and show my greater tendency toward the latter notion. On the one hand, individuals perhaps have the worst moment which has a negative impact on their recent lives. This is due to certain phases which have been encountered by them and it might give them severe impact if they remember what they have been through. As an example, someone with a past trauma will not benefit from remembering it. Thus, it is better for them to forget the previous part of their lives and focus on the next journey. On the other hand, it is undeniable that people could learn from their failures in previous trials. For instance, a businessman needs to try repeatedly to find the most effective way to develop their business. In this way, those who have undergone a problem will be much more aware of the same issue that might occur in the future. Therefore, having learnt from mistakes, people would prepare another strategy to avoid it. To conclude, although some individuals may consider their past as useless experiences, taking valuable insight will be more beneficial to help them mitigate possible issues in the future. In my point of view, what people have experienced will always be the best guidance to live the next life.