Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Education has never been so comprehensive as it is today. Students of different grades spend all day learning the theories at school. However, this century has seen a tendency where advanced education degrees are less and less valuable in the job market. Some argue that too much knowledge is taught in the classroom, but not sufficient real-world experience is given. I believe such a claim is spot on, and we need to address this disconnection between the ivory tower and the professional world. Educators should devote more time and attention to the development of practical skills. Firstly, today's graduates are less competitive when it comes to recruitment than before because they all lack the hands-on skills the employers are looking for. With the huge supply of college-educated job seekers, companies have more say about the candidate's industry background and will prefer those who have what it takes to start to work on day one. If the courses can focus more on useful skills, including writing a marketing campaign plan, building a website, and giving a sales pitch, they can make the youngsters stand out in the labor force. Secondly, many textbooks and curricula are designed more than a decade ago, and therefore are extremely outdated. In this case, the practical training can be a perfect complement to the regular lectures to present the most up-to-date information about the subject. Lastly, theoretical knowledge can be mundane to learn, and people are usually confused about how it can be applied to make a difference in the world. Giving them the chance to apply the skills can not only inspire them and cultivate curiosity and perseverance, but help them understand what they learn in the classroom better as well. Admittedly, there are decent reasons why we do not often see these in a university or high school. To begin with, more funding is needed if we want to provide the equipment and the faculty. Also, many assert that the universities should emphasize only the theories and it is the students’ own responsibility to gain career experience. However, I believe these are not sufficient reasons for these institutions to neglect their duties. As there are more and more people get educated, earning a diploma is no longer enough to start their career, and we cannot wish they could figure it out themselves. The educators need to guide them throughout the transition to society and give them a head start by requiring more training. Overall, I believe there should be more focus on practical abilities than acquiring know-how. We must not forget that the know-how is useful only if we are able to harness them. In this world of challenges and competitions, we need to reallocate the students' time to highlight practical skills.