Children's education is expensive. In some countries, the government pay some of or all of the costs. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

In this day and age, the government of many countries provide free primary and secondary, even tertiary education for the public. In my opinion, the positive effects of this policy on individuals and nations are more than the drawbacks. To start with, education can equip the youth with basic skills for employments. Take language as an example, it is not only a necessary ability to learn other knowledge, but also a training of communication. In addition, while the accumulation knowledge of varies subjects, students may find the areas where they are good at, so that they can determine their own direction of development and eventually make outstanding achievements. That is to say, more widespread basic education leads to more high-skilled talents, which can promote the faster development of a country’s economy. Furthermore, schools can teach children basic social rules. For instance, it is right to be respectful and disciplined at school, and talking dirty, cheating in exams and bullying classmates are wrong. If juveniles are clear which behaviors are recognized by others and which will be punished, they are more likely to be law-abiding citizens than criminals after grown-up. Thus, the more numbers of a state have experienced such basic education, the more stable the social security will be. However, due to the high cost of schools, the free basic education for the whole people means decreasing investment for other aspects, such as construction of infrastructural facilities and health care, which may lead to a series of social problems. In conclusion, if the budget is sufficient, it is worthwhile for the authorities to invest in basic education, which can bring economic and security returns to a nation.