In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A debate over whether the change in family structure and family roles has a positive impact or a negative impact has long been a subject of discussion. Some people believe that the changes occurred in family structures gave them freedom and privacy but on the other hand, some people think that these changes left an individual alone. To begin with, family structure plays a vital role in the grooming of kids as well as the young generation. At first, people used to live in a joint family where all the brothers and sisters used to live in the same house with their parents. Parents were the head of the family and had the authority to keep a check on everyone. Every decision is taken by the head of the family after discussing it with everyone and whenever an individual get stuck in a problem, all the other members of the family try to help him/her. For instance, if an individual gets some mental illness like depression or anxiety, other members would help that person by giving a friendly company and other kind of help if needed. Furthermore, people are now preferring neutral families in which they only live with their life partner. In neutral families, there is no head of the family. Therefore, there is no one to keep check. The kids in neutral families do not realize the value of the joint families. Therefore, they lack certain kinds of grooming. For example, today's kids did not enjoy the company of grandparents and they lack their love and affection. In short, changes in family structures affect people in a negative way. These changes will completely isolate individuals in their own life and the new generation will lack the emotional connections of family. Although there are certain people who are happy in neutral families and do not want to live in a joint family.