Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Nowadays, more old buildings attached to their national history have been protected by legal regulations. However, a majority of people believe that replacing an old complex with a new premise will generate more beneficial returns, especially in terms of financial value. In contrast, old buildings have their invisible value as a historical suborner and mirror a unique infrastructure stylist. Besides, a unique infrastructure stylist attracts a large number of foreign tourists, which contributes to its national development. To begin with, it is undeniable that the historical and cultural value of the historic complexes. Firstly, the previous buildings, which were constructed based on the lifestyle of ancestors, provide a path to return to the past by their infrastructure stylist. Because ancestors laid out their house structure suited to their daily demands and normal activities, which reflects the cultural identity of a nation. For example, some distinctive complexes, such as communal houses, were designed for some special festival events, where a lot of historic cultural activities of a village happened including New Year's Eve, and traditional religious worship. Besides, some aesthetic old buildings not only provoke the curiosity of a foreign tourist with their unique layout stylists but also provide an interesting insight into this nation in previous times. If a house witnessed any historical altering event, it would reflect a partial position in history or might become a historic symbol. As a result, foreign visitors make this area more lively and boost economic areas as they spend on local sightseeing and eating activities by indigenous. Nevertheless, people now pay attention to financial returns, so they believe that some unnecessary old complexes need to be renovated or evenly replaced by new ones. In addition, with population explosion at an alarming rate and urbanization accelerating, space is needed for housing to meet commercial profitability activities. Hence, renovating an old infrastructure into a shophouse was a preferential idea of some citizens, which not only ensures the conservation of the invisible value of these complexes but also meets adjusting demands in the changing era, which will provide financial benefits such as leasing a shophouse. By doing this, urban space can be better used to promote economic development, while bringing a fresh life for citizens. Consequently, more fashion shophouses, such as Lily stores in Hanoi, Vietnam, emerged as it attracts many people of their stylist outstanding above all. To conclude, old buildings play an important role in sustaining the cultural and traditional values of a nation. An old infrastructure cannot only attract foreign tourism cash flow but also be renovated into a shophouse to meet commercial activities, which promotes economic development.