Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People are of the view that children will perform better in school when offered rewards than when when punished. I completely disagree with this. On the one hand, rewards are mostly reserved for outstanding performances or good behaviour. I cannot imagine how odd it will be for a pupil with bad behaviour to receive a reward. Aside from the act of not feeling right, the character of children is shaped during their school days and their brains quickly register what they see, so once they learn society smiles upon not well-behaved people, they will be encouraged to display unpleasant behaviours in school just to be rewarded too. On the other hand, by convention, punishment is reserved for those who go against the rules of society and it is no different from what happens at teaching institutions. Normally, wrong-doers even expect to be penalised. First of all, punishment brings shame and discomfort to offenders so it serves to deter them from repeating the same act again. In addition, it deters the other folks of the school as well. To illustrate this, I stopped littering at junior high school after I was made to sweep the whole school compound for dropping an empty bottle to the ground. Secondly, punishment grooms well-behaved students. To illustrate this, some schools in Ghana have a limit to which repeated acts of indiscipline by the same pupil will lead to one being permanently sacked from school. The outcome of this as known to parents and students alike is a bad record on one's file which can be retrieved years after they have left the school. The consequence is its effect on their employment status in adulthood. For fear of being unemployed even after attaining formal education, most students after receiving one punishment change for the better. Finally, studies carried out by Sir Steve Wonder at various schools concluded that schools that discipline their children have several of them with good behaviours compared to those that did not. Hence, it is clear punitive measures are required in our schools to instil some discipline in the children. To sum up, it is evident that children are likely to be at their best when punished for wrong-doing. Therefore, I completely disagree with the fact that perpetrators of school law should be rewarded.