In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that industries and businesses are encouraged by governments in several countries to relocate their activities to suburban areas outside the big cities. I believe that the advantages of this view overshadow the disadvantages. Governments in some countries are planning to relocate businesses’ activities to the regional areas. In fact, this plan has been applied by a few nations. For instance, in Indonesia, most companies are located in the suburban area (Karawang). Nevertheless, that area was not a good place to live because of the limited facilities and far away from the big cities. Therefore, people are choosing to stay in Jakarta and will commute to Karawang. However, this journey will take a long time which can affect people’s well-being. Lack of well-being will lead to the workers’ performance, and it is not a good thing for the workers’ activities. On the other hand, the plan of relocating the area of industries and businesses from governments can give a benefit for the city itself. One of the advantages is this circumstance is able to reduce the environmental issues such as pollutants and wastes in the big cities that are the result of the businesses’ activities. It is because the activities will be more centered in the regional areas which are far from the metropolitan areas. As a consequence, the quality of life in the city will be better and it is a good movement for human lives. In addition, individuals will be healthier and not easily get sick, especially their respiratory system because of environmental issues. In summary, the government’s plans to allocate the area of industries and businesses in some countries can affect employees’ well-being. However, this plan will help to reduce pollutants and wastes in the big cities which will be a good movement for humans’ lives. Thus, the advantages of this plan clearly overshadow the drawbacks.