Some people think it is better to study in a large class size whereas some others argue that it is better to study in a class with a small number of students. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The size of a class in schools could contribute to the students’ learning development. While some people argue that studying in a large class is better, I side with those who believe that studying in a small class offers many more benefits to the children. On the one hand, studying in a large class can offer some benefits. Firstly, children can meet and know many people with different characteristics and backgrounds. This enables them to connect and discuss with a wide variety of people across the room, which can therefore improve their ability in communication and social interaction. Secondly, children can learn from each other when they struggle to understand a subject by forming study groups. To illustrate, if they face difficulties in solving a math case, they can reach each other and set a time to solve the task together. In fact, this means that there will also be many perspectives to share their thoughts which allows them to be more knowledgeable and open-minded. Thus, they can develop their social skills and learn to expand their networks which is an important factor for their future career. On the other hand, studying in a small class can also offer some benefits. Firstly, the children could be more focused on learning the subjects because there are fewer distractions. For example, they could avoid the stress of having an annoying classmate who constantly makes noises because of boredom. This conducive learning environment will be very effective for children in understanding the teachers’ explanations. Furthermore, a smaller number of students means that they can be looked after more by their teachers because they will be receiving more personalized support and attention. The teachers will be less overwhelmed and could give clear feedback on their students and therefore monitor their growth closely. As a result, the children ’s growth can be greatly maintained and improved since they are being mentored and evaluated more seriously. In conclusion, while studying in a large class could add more people to interact with and learning peers to study, it enables them to have fewer distractions and a safe space to grow. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that studying in a small class offers more benefits to the children.