Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

We are living in a divided world today with constant conflicts between different opinions and cultures. Some believe that music can help unite people around the world. I partially agree with this view, and will give my reasons below. On one hand, music is the common language across various demographics. Firstly, we all love catchy melodies, and enjoying the same song together can reduce our differences and enhance mutual understanding. Secondly, it can become a medium to spread messages. For instance, the world-famous We Are The World and the Live Aid concert by Michael Jackson, and the virtual performance organized by Lady Gaga during COVID are both proofs that it can convey hope and address practical issues. Lastly, we can easily stream music composed in another country today, which enables us to appreciate the variety of civilizations. On the other hand, the songs have their limitations. First of all, there is an obvious generational gap regarding the favorite genre. Youngsters tend to love hip-hop and R&B, while senior people prefer jazz and rock. Also, we must not underestimate the effects of the language barrier. To give an example, in most charts, foreign language albums rarely make it to the top. Furthermore, we should not exaggerate its influence. While an upbeat jingle might lift up our mood, it does not address the root cause of the confrontations. We cannot let our wishful thinking hinder us from combating real matters. In conclusion, I agree that music is one of the few things which can increase solidarity among individuals with diverse backgrounds, and it is a universal language for everyone. However, we should also be aware that this form of art is not capable of resolving conflicts radically, and we must work hard to fix our differences ourselves at the same time.