**Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.** **Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.**

**Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.** **Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.** People have distinct views about what studies should students concentrate on at university. Although there are some good arguments about the importance of focusing on the main subjects and acquiring the qualification, I personally believe that students should expose themselves to different subjects and try other areas if they are available. It is apparent that students spending their time discovering various subjects could broaden their vision. The knowledge they absorb from several subjects may inspire them in an unexpected way. The most evidence is the story of Steve Jobs, he took some typography lessons when he dropped out of college, and what he learned from the course then became a crucial part of the process of creating the Apple computers. Moreover, companies nowadays tend to search for talents with multiple specialities, and the demand for cross-discipline talents is increasing. Therefore, if a student can study well in their major and find another passion and strength as well, they will become more competitive in their career. However, studying other subjects could become a distraction for students sometimes, especially for the subjects that require a lot of attention, such as doctors. It is important for students to evaluate and manage their course time properly, and make sure they devote the majority of time to their majors. It would be disastrous if they lose their main direction in their study, and they might even perform badly in their major consequently. In conclusion, studying other subjects in the university is beneficial for students to expand their minds and learn more skills for future jobs, as long as the students find a balance between their majors and other subjects they are interested in.