More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses for communities in poorer countries. Why young people choose to do so? Who will benefit more: young people or the communities? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, adults from affluent nations have been choosing to do voluntary activities like educating or constructing as a good-will in poor countries. In this essay, I will illustrate the reasons behind this choice then, I will delineate who will get the benefits of this behaviour. Adults in rich societies are choosing voluntary work because of humanity and the basic instinct in human nature. Based on psychological aspects, when individuals have comfortable living conditions, they start to pay attention to their surroundings. I mean that they can see others suffering and pain, therefore a sense of empathy is growing in them as they participate in charity jobs to make the world a better place for everyone. For instance, Indian slum areas have been at the centre of attention for a long time because of the poor conditions of living there,especially for children. Moreover, it is human instinct to think about her/his kind and care about them as this character has been inside every individual from the beginning of the world. Charity activities have advantages for individuals and poor communities. As for individuals, working in this society is a kind of behavioural education for them. They learn patience while they are working. These activities prevent people from ignorance and selfish behaviour. Moreover, the overall condition of communities mitigates. For instance, hungry children are fed and they find a chance to study and have a brighter future for themselves. Besides, people of poor countries who can escape from their destructive situation, also endeavour to help their nations too. In conclusion, helping others is based on human nature and empathy among mankind, therefore individuals who are active in these works are taught moral behaviour while poor nations find a chance to have a better life.