Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

Some people believe that older people ought to live in the same place with their daughter or son and their descendants, while there are others who say that older adults should live on their own. Although the first idea has its own benefits, I believe that it is better when grandparents live separately. On the one hand, when the older generation decides to live under the same roof with one of their children, they can benefit from better and richer emotional support. In other words, this can result in establishing strong connections with their family which not only enhances their happiness but also leads to less mood swings and therefore, higher life expectancy. For instance, one prolonged research at the University of Harvard showed that human happiness is intertwined with personal connections and the deepness of those bonds during life, especially during old age. However, I believe that by relying on themselves, elders can benefit from their independence in other ways. On the other hand, staying in a separate house will help with boosting the feeling of self-esteem in older people. By being able to accomplish everyday tasks without relying on anyone but themselves, they will soon feel a sense of fulfillment leading to a strong satisfaction which is actually crucial as it is more likely to feel desperate or hopeless at this stage of life. For example, many grandparents were filled with despair once they lost the sense of being helpful to others and once they felt like no one counted on them, as they used to. In conclusion, although some argue that elderly individuals are better off living with their children as this would make socializing easier for them, I believe that being self-dependent not only enhances their confidence but also depicts a positive self-image for them.