Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly problematic in major cities. What are the cause of this? What solutions can you suggest to help solve this problem?

The increase in traffic on roads is a major problem in most developed areas. Every person in ten has their own personal vehicle which is the main cause of an increase in traffic. The government should impose some strict rules regarding purchase of the new vehicles and should limit the count of vehicles on the road to prevent any further risk of traffic congestion. Firstly, the major reason for traffic is no control over the purchase of new vehicles in one family. In this modern era, two or three people in the family have their personal car even when there is no need for it. For example, The Capital city, Delhi has regulations for driving cars on odd and even orders every week. To control this problem, the government should put strict rules on owning only one vehicle by one family. There should be a limit on buying any personal means of transport in the family. Secondly, Society is less interested in using public transport and prefers going on their own rather than dropping anyone off on the way to work. To increase the usage of public transport, politics should give some extra benefits to the population who uses buses and trains to go to work rather than using their own vehicle. Also, they should conduct seminars and mass media programmes to educate people regarding an increase in pollution due to traffic congestion and about control measures. In conclusion, an increase in traffic is not going to help any city or town in any way as it is going to be the main reason for air pollution and many more. So, control is a must and we all should participate in tackling this problem as it can be dangerous in future if it gets worse. The government should provide more public transport services and the community should follow all the rules to reduce traffic.